Skip to content

Odetta- “May we know that together”

December 7, 2008
Last week I was moved by recogition of Little Richard’s 77th birthday. Today I took tiime to reflect on the influence of Odetta who died at age 77 last week. I cannot overstate the influence she has had on my life. Each time I’ve  heard her – either live or recorded – the experience shook the foundation of my values and challenged me to new heights.
 
I plead with anyone who reads this passage to listen to her performance at the Kent State Music Festival in 2006 (http://www.folkalley.com/music/livefrom/odetta/).  It starts with a reading of Marrianne Williamson. I’ve never been dry-eyed by the time she gets through a verse of "This little light of mine". Today I trembled with the revelation.
 
"May we know that together".

From → Music

Leave a Reply

